The Waiting List – Thieftess – Alethea Kontis

Published August 28, 2015 by chrisalys820

I know that you can’t rush perfection and that this book is so far out that it doesn’t have a Goodreads page yet but I. Can. Not. Wait. I am super duper excited for this book. I want it now. I want it more than I wanted to see the Backstreet Boys in concert when I was 15 (and that’s a lot.)

Stay awesome ♥ Christa

The Heir – Kiera Cass

Published June 28, 2015 by chrisalys820

★★★★★

This month has been horrible here at AGSBAAB. I’ve learned a few lessons about trusting people. I also broke some bones. That in itself has been a lesson in frustration. I haven’t really read much. But I have been waiting a long time for this book and when it came into the library, I devoured it. It took me about 4 hours start to finish. It had the same feel as the first 3 books but it was different. I liked Eadlyn differently than I had liked America. She was princessier than her mother but lacked some of the spark that made me like America. This is a good follow up to The Selection series and I can’t wait for the next one. #TeamHenri

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22918050-the-heir

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought. 

Stay awesome ♥ Christa

Tales of Arilland – Alethea Kontis

Published June 24, 2015 by chrisalys820

★★★★★

This book is awesome. It is set in the same world as the Woodcutter series. Alethea Kontis has a way with turning classic stories on their ear and giving a new perspective. There were stories that I thought I knew and then I read her version and realized I had never really thought about the story before. She adds depth and character to beloved tales. If you’ve read the Woodcutter series but haven’t read
Tales of Arilland, what are you doing reading this? Hop to it…

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25707775-tales-of-arilland

In the fairy tale realm of Arilland, stories are told at children’s bedsides–and not the stories you think you know.

Tales of Arilland is a collection of fairy tales, presented in the magical topsy-turvy way that only Alethea Kontis can do. Discover the story of Bluebeard’s first wife (“Blood From Stone”), what really happened to Snow White in those dark woods (“The Unicorn Hunter”), how dangerous the Little Mermaid might have been (“Blood and Water”), and just how far Little Red Riding Hood was willing to go (“Hero Worship”). Included in this collection is “Sunday,” the original novelette that inspired the award-winning novel Enchanted, as well as “The Cursed Prince,” the previously untold history of Prince Rumbold of Arilland…and more.

Woodcutter enthusiasts will rejoice at this opportunity to delve into the secret worlds beyond Kontis’s intricately woven fantasy novels. And if you are not a fan yet, you will be!

Stay awesome ♥ Christa

Trixter – Alethea Kontis

Published June 24, 2015 by chrisalys820

★★★★★

Every book by Alethea Kontis is better than the last. I thought Enchanted was one of the best books I ever read until I read Hero. And then Dearest came along. I thought things couldn’t get any better and then I read Trixter. I enjoyed the stories that Trix Woodcutter lived in this book. I found myself going back and rereading different parts. There is a reason Alethea Kontis is one of my favorite authors and if you read Trixter, you’ll see why.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25482121-trixter

Trix Woodcutter is the long prophesied Boy Who Talks to Animals. He’s also a foundling prankster scamp who places his family under a sleeping spell so that he can run away from home. Compelled by a vision of his dead birthmother, Trix departs on the eve of a Great Catastrophe, only to find himself caught in the maelstrom. Armed with little more than his wits and the wisdom inherent in all fey-blooded youth, Trix confronts a legendary Animal King, faces off against a ghostly feline, rescues a damsel in distress, and discovers more about himself than he ever wished to know. 

And this adventure is only the beginning…

Stay awesome ♥ Christa

Promises I Made – Michelle Zink

Published May 18, 2015 by chrisalys820

★★★★★

I was lucky enough to be able to meet Michelle Zink (and her children) last month. She lives not far from me and she had a book signing near where I live. I went, after much convincing from my fiance that he and the kids would be fine without me for 2 hours.

I was the only one there for a while. I got one of my favorite authors to myself for half an hour. One of the high points was when she pulled out an advance copy of her next book and gave it to me.

After a month of emergency rooms and doctors offices with my daughter, I finally was able to read the first book yesterday (even though I’ve been carrying it with me in my bag the entire month.) I finished it around 3 am yesterday and picked up Promises I Made. I finished it about 3 hours ago and I loved it as much, if not more than Lies I Told. I recommend that you read the first one and then pre-order this one. :)

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25056008-promises-i-made

In the thrilling sequel to Lies I Told, Grace learns that the most difficult thing about pulling off the perfect crime is living with the consequences.

Grace Fontaine was trained to carry out perfect crimes. But when a mistake was made the night her family tried to execute their biggest heist yet, her world fell apart. Now her brother is in jail, her mother has disappeared with the entire stolen fortune, and her father is determined to find a new mark, no matter the cost.

Haunted by the way she betrayed her friends—and Logan, the only boy she’s ever loved—as well as the role she played in her brother’s arrest, Grace decides she must return to the place every thief knows you should avoid: the scene of the crime.

Returning to Playa Hermosa as a wanted criminal is dangerous. But Grace has only one chance to make things right. To do it, she has to use everything she’s been taught about the art of the con to hunt down the very people who trained her: the only family she’s ever known.

Perfect for fans of Ally Carter, Cecily von Ziegesar, and Gail Carriger, this thrilling, high-stakes novel deftly explores the roles of identity and loyalty while offering a window into the world of the rich and fabulous.

Stay awesome ♥ Christa

Lies I Told – Michelle Zink

Published May 18, 2015 by chrisalys820

★★★★★

I stayed up until 3 am to finish this. I have small children who don’t care that Mommy was reading all night. Was it worth it? Yes. Yes, it was. I probably shouldn’t have started reading the advance copy of the next book right away but what’s done is done.

Grace is a great main character. She’s not really the good person. The person who is trying to do the right thing? It is soooo easy to hate her. This book seriously played with my emotions once I realized that. I shouldn’t have been rooting for Grace to go through with her family’s plan.

This book is going on my reread shelf. If you read one book this week, make it Lies I Told. And if you do, or have read it already, let me know what you thought in the comments. :)

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20983351-lies-i-told?ac=1

What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you’ve told yourself?

Grace Fontaine has everything: beauty, money, confidence, and the perfect family. 

But it’s all a lie.

Grace has been adopted into a family of thieves who con affluent people out of money, jewelry, art, and anything else of value. Grace has never had any difficulty pulling off a job, but when things start to go wrong on the Fontaines’ biggest heist yet, Grace finds herself breaking more and more of the rules designed to keep her from getting caught…including the most important one of all: never fall for your mark.

Perfect for fans of Ally Carter, Cecily von Ziegesar, and Gail Carriger, this thrilling, high-stakes novel deftly explores the roles of identity and loyalty while offering a window into the world of the rich and fabulous.

“Highly readable, gripping and touching.” – Kirkus (starred review)

“… searingly honest…” – School Library Journal

“… a gripping, edgy thriller…” – Publisher’s Weekly 

“An addictive read.” – Booklist

Stay awesome ♥ Christa

Edgewater – Courtney Sheinmel

Published May 18, 2015 by chrisalys820

★★★★★

I read this while hanging out at the Ronald McDonald House (love that place!) during nap time, in between appointments. It was a good distraction to everything that was (and is) going on.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20879891-edgewater#

Tamar Brazis at Abrams/Amulet acquired world English rights to Courtney Sheinmel’s Edgewater, billed as a “YA Grey Gardens,” about a teen who lives in squalor in a crumbling mansion on Long Island and subsists on a mysterious trust fund – but who stands to lose everything when the secrets, lies, and scandals of the people around her are revealed. Publication is planned for fall 2015.

Stay awesome ♥ Christa

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.